Natural poison

I lie among peacock plant, red ginger, calabash tree. I lie among zebra taro and Madagascar palm. Rapacious are the flora here. Butterwort and parrot pitcher, white trumpet and cobra trap crawling, flying, spooling things, unfortunate creatures lured by nectar and drawn down by light winking through false exits, only to be liquidly, enzymically digested. The forest lends me a beastie feeling, which I joyfully roll about in. I lie on the ground, sheening with sweat, inhaling unadulterated molecules. The humidity loosens my skin and I molt, shedding the most synthetic-toxic outer layer, a flesh suit turned polypropylene through sustained contact with excessive smog, petrochemicals, parabens, phthalates, pesticides, nitrites, DDT, PCB, BPA… and I shed successive layers until I’m new like long before the technological, industrial, or agricultural revolutions – new and fresh as even before nomadic humanity. I may be poisoned still, by plants or snakes or insects, but it will be a natural poison. Oh modern world, I abdicate your ‘necessities’. Instead, with my back in the dirt, I’ll become rapacious according to the wholesome manner of nature.

~ by kingzoko on September 22, 2015.

leave a reply

 
